**April** Blogger’s Self-Challenge: Pre-Ramadan Spirituality (Cardio/Qalb) Work-Out Plan


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

SubhanAllah, how I wish that if people did not have anything beneficial to say then they would just keep quiet. How hard you try to build bricks of a certain concept, reminding people of Allah SWT and how quickly that is all blown away as if those bricks were fake. Some sort of delusionary brick-look-alikes.

It is impossible to find anyone giving you good advice and it is so common when people are willing to pull you away from that which is right. I wish I could almost tell such people to stay out of my life and my family members’ whose Akhirah I’m fearful of.

Please shove your desires down your own throat and enjoy those things yourselves. I’ve sinned enough to guiltlessly enjoy such indulgences.

Spoiling the life of those who wish to live by Him in mind, by insinuating them with ideas full of desires is astaghfirullah such an abominable deed. If you begin with His Displeasure then that’s how you’re going to end if you had knowledge all along and persisted in wrong without repentance. I’m at my wits end and I’m almost wishing that I get a dream of Rasulalah salalahu ‘alayhi wasalam letting me know that Allah SWT will be pleased with me because currently my attempts seem futile. I remember Sh. Riad Ourzazi once said that one has to be patient in his love for Allah SWT. Sometimes you may not get answers, approvals and confirmations from up above or anywhere for that matter. But you have to wait, patiently, even if you’re broken in His Love.

Nothing will put an end to the desires of the son/daughter of Adam except grave’s dust. So we must fear Allah SWT as He SWT deserves because the desires of humans around you would never ever end and they will try to drag you in them no matter how much you try to flee. Inshaa’Allah persevere!

My March challenge taught me a valuable lesson and alhamdolilah it has changed me for the better. My April’s Personal Challenge is quite vague but I’m so in need to up my level of Taqwa. So my aim is to follow this ayah which is recited commonly in Khutbas:

3:102

O you who believe! Fear Allâh (by doing all that He has ordered and by abstaining from all that He has forbidden) as He should be feared. [Obey Him, be thankful to Him, and remember Him always], and die not except in a state of Islâm [as Muslims (with complete submission to Allâh)].

[Surat Ale Imraan, 3:102]

~

Very briefly: Taqwa , if understood linguistically from its root word wow-qaaf-yaa, is to build a shield around yourself from a thing you fear. Having taqwa of Allah SWT will then partially mean to build a shield from the Punishment of Allah SWT by doing good deeds and staying away from that which is forbidden.

I experimented with myself a little so this is not all talk. You can use it practically. Asking yourself the following question will help inshaa’Allah no matter what situation you’re in:

Am I fearing Allah SWT like He SWT deserves? Am I obeying Him at this moment the way He would like? He, who is the King of all Worlds, and who could zap me into an ant? He who gave life to my heart when it was dead. And saved me when I was almost at the verge of emotional death. Don’t I owe my time to Him knowing that He won’t get anything out of it? Doesn’t His Majesty necessitate obedience and all those acts that lead me towards obedience?

Immediately such thought-process would pull you off your mental couch and take you where you should be inshaa’Allah.

Let’s fear Allah SWT as He deserves. Let’s not pick and choose when and where He should be feared. His SWT’s Knowledge encompasses everything and He’s everywhere by the virtue of His Knowledge. Then obviously we mustn’t even dream to live a single moment in time and space without fearing Him.

Let’s not be of those who:

  • fear Him in public but not in privacy
  • fear Him in front of strangers but not in front of their families
  • fear Him by attending Islamic gatherings  but can’t even remain true to their words
  • fear Him only in terms of praying five times a day and not when they speak
  • fear Him by being ‘confident’ in public talks but not being humble to Him where it is necessary
  • fear Him in conversations but not in their expenditure, life’s occasions, happiness and sadness
  • fear people, their objections, their comments and their disapproval instead of Him
So whether fearing Allah SWT means controlling that one word that would hurt the person in front of you, saying ‘No!’ to your peers who invite you to waste time or reciting more Quraan than you used to, just be creative. It’s your life, you know better where you have certain issues and so you have to fear Him in every possible way you can as much as you can.
***

Imam Ahmad (R) passed away several of years ago but I can never forget how he stood firm in the times of the major trial he went through. It is only his fear of Allah SWT that helped him sail through such a heavy trial when even the people of knowledge were not firm on the Haqq. Mashaa’Allah, his story strengthens me by the Mercy of Allah SWT.

It is only Allah SWT’s Fear (coupled with love and hope) that’s going to help me in times to come. I may not be in a battlefield but isn’t this world itself a battlefield enough with all the soldiers of Iblis ready to pounce on you and your Nafs?

Granted that life is not going to be ‘rosy’ for those who wish to live according to the ayah above but it will definitely be beautiful in the Akhirah inshaa’Allah if they did what they did with the right intention following the authentic Sunnah of Rasulalah salalahu ‘alayhi wasalam.

Alhamdolilah that this world is temporary and alhamdolilah for us awaits a relaxing life ahead inshaa’Allah.

[Just being very hopeful here for myself]

May Allah SWT protect us from anything painful after we die.

Allahumma Balighna Ramadan…O Allah SWT, allow us to live the upcoming Ramadan in a manner that is most pleasing to You. Ya Mujeeb, change me for if I don’t change after knowing the reality then what good is there in my existence and please build a waswasa-proof fence around my heart! Please help me… Indeed only You Alone listen and respond to the duaas…Ameen.

And Allah SWT knows best.

Say an abrupt and violent NO to lowly desires, laziness and Shaytan’s whispers!

Wasalamu ‘alaykum warahmatullah,

-Umm Sulaym

The one who speaks and thus types more than she implements

2 thoughts on “**April** Blogger’s Self-Challenge: Pre-Ramadan Spirituality (Cardio/Qalb) Work-Out Plan

Leave a Reply

